The ‘Hug’ Endeavour.

Please do read chapters 1 & 2

Chapter 3:

This is the story of the first time I hugged my Greek God

Growing up in a conservative family, I was never allowed to hug guys because my family considered it taboo. But in 11th grade, I met my Greek God. And although I knew that even our friendship alone, would get me into trouble with my family, there was nothing I wanted more than to be with him. Our friendship grew as we spoke to each other every day, almost as if it’s a daily ritual. We studied in different classes, and I remember walking to his class every morning and talking to him in the corridor. Our friendship, creating a very special bubble, both of us oblivious to the rest of the world.

I remember feeling this deep need to hug my Greek God. Not in a romantic way, because at that time, we were really just friends. But sadly, our school was stricter than a military academy. Teachers looming over corridors trying to find couples and get them suspended for “inappropriate behaviour”. I knew for a fact that if I got caught with Greek God, my family would all but disown me. But the heart wants what the heart wants, doesn’t it? I’d made up my mind about wanting to hug Greek God. And thus began my iron-clad planning to help me on my endeavour to hug Greek God.

I took the help of one of my best friends. Asking him to stand guard at the classroom door, and finally, 3.14 and Greek God hugged! And to be honest, his arms felt like home. Like somehow, I knew that that’s where I belong. His warmth, his love, his care. They made me feel giddy with joy for, deep inside, I knew that he was the one.

In this day and age, feeling joy over just hugging somebody may seem really silly. But to us, it wasn’t. It was one of the most important things that happened in our story. He was the first guy I ever hugged. And although this story is very personal, I’m sharing this now because I feel that people these days don’t value the small, meaningful gestures. We are slowly losing ourselves in our work and lives to such an extent that we forget to cherish the small moments.

So for all you people out there, in a relationship or not, cherish the seemingly ordinary moments because in the end, it’s the ordinary moments that turn out to be truly extraordinary.

-3.14

Leave a Reply

