The distance factor.

Long distance relationship.

“Oh”. “Hmm”. *Sigh*.

 

Common responses when you tell someone you’re in a long distance relationship. But is it really that bad? I’m yet to find out. I’ve been in an LDR with my Greek God for the past 3½ years. We live in different cities, 218 miles between us. And yet, it has never stopped us.

On 28th of Jan, my Greek God, traveled all those miles, just so he could meet me for a day. And it was bliss! After almost 2 months of helpless loneliness, I held him in my arms, hugged him, kissed him and cried tears of joy as I finally felt his warmth.

One day. Just 16 hours of companionship. 16 hours of love but weeks of loneliness to follow. Truly, the hardest thing to deal with is the emptiness that follows when your S.O. leaves.  Somehow, I managed to make it through. To put a smile on my face and say goodbye through tear-filled eyes.

Love is a constant deal. You have to constantly give it your time. But, it’s hard to put up with the pain, the planning and the loneliness of an LDR when your partner slowly ceases to exist as a real person and starts to feel like an entity who only exists in your phone and laptop. You get so attached to your gadgets, like your life depends on it. You’re on your phone all the time, feeling ghost vibrations, constantly checking messages, slowly distancing yourself from the real world as well. A major chunk of your life becomes virtual and you lose yourself in it, while slowly beginning to question if all this is really worth it.

So how do you know if it’s worth it? With Greek God, I just knew. And although most people have their doubts about LDRs, I have always felt confident about him. About us. About making it through. Somehow, he is the one I’ve always wanted in my life. And every time we meet, this confidence is just reinforced. Like steel through concrete beams, he is my support system through the worst of times, always making me smile and laugh, holding my hand and walking with me through the darkest tunnels. And all those doubts and questions and worries vanish the moment I lay my eyes on him.

LDR is hard. There’s no questioning that. No one can predict the future. Not even me. So I don’t know if the 3.14 & Greek God story will make it through the ages, but if there’s just one thing I know for sure, it’s the fact that I’ll never ever give up on my Greek God!

-3.14

8 thoughts on “The distance factor.

      1. I was in a LDR for 2 and a half years. We didn’t break up, because of the distance. He and I just felt like we didn’t mesh well anymore. He was critical of me, and I was critical of him. We both deserved better. So it was a mutual break up. Still, that relationship was the most healthiest of all of the relationships I’ve ever had. I’m an aromantic asexual, so I’ll be the first to admit, it’s not easy being in a relationship with me haha He loved me, and I loved him, and we somehow made it work 🙂

        Like

      2. That’s good! It’s always nice to hear a positive LDR story. People keep saying that LDRs don’t last and it’s sort of become a life mission of mine to prove them wrong :p So, thank you, for sharing your story with me 🙂 it means a lot 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hey! You’ve been in an LDR for 3+ years so I think things are going to get better. LDRs are indeed tough but both of you have to work on in for it to make it work and last for a long time. Anyway, my name is Kaye and i am inviting you to an exclusive community called LDRBN. It is a community of bloggers who are in LDRs (such as yourself) wherein we support each other and share stories and other amazing stuff. If you are interested or just wanna take a peek, click this link–> http://www.ldrblogs.com/join-our-network/?mref=kaye
    and you will momentarily redirected to the site. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. Feel free to check it out and if you are interested do join. 😀 We are happy to receive new members. Dont forget to put my name as your referrer. Thanks so much

        Like

Leave a Reply

