Voice of reason: FGM

I’m not sure if you’ve heard of FGM. Female Genital Mutilation. Yes, It’s a thing, and it’s a problem that plagues our society. Hiding beneath years and years of tradition, this social issue is something that brought about a lot of pain in me. I can’t even begin to imagine how painful it must be for women that are forced to undergo this torture. I was lucky but someone out there might not be. So, I wanna do my bit to try and help to stop this social evil. Here’s a poem I’ve written, trying to understand FGM from a victim’s perspective.

P.S. I don’t mean to offend anyone. This is just my way of trying to bring about change.

FGM.

You hold me down as I fight for my life,
I scream in pain but my screams go unheard,
My own mother, a traitor,
Holds me down, to be tortured.

You tear away my clothes,
And plan your evil deed,
Tears streaming down my face
As I await the torture of my fate.

I see the sharp knife
That will butcher my life,
I see your determination
In making my life a living hell.

I hear the chanting,
Of years of ruthless tradition,
Years of ignorance and inhumanity,
Put together in a tune.

And suddenly! The knife swings down!
And in one stroke, you ripped me of my feminity.
The inhumanity of your act, drips down the knife,
As my blood stains this god forsaken floor.

I lie immobile,
As my voice escapes me,
Unable to run, unable to hide,
I feel I’ve been ripped of my soul.

I’m left alone to heal,
From the brutal wound you inflicted,
The wound that sealed my fate,
My fate of a painful future.

All this because I’m a woman,
Who is to be denied of pleasure.
Because the pain of a woman,
Is somehow this culture’s treasure.

-3.14

Leave a Reply

